The OJ Chase and Putt-Putt….(F)

Where were you when OJ Simpson was being chased by Los Angeles?

I was at a putt-putt course.  Back up.

I was pregnant with Kaila.  Brian, Mark and I decided some putt-putt was in order.  Mark was our best friend (and would later be named as Kaila’s Godfather).  He had a blue convertible bug and we piled in and headed to Kennedy Golf Course.  This is always a very busy place and we paid and waited.  We got out there and started playing our game.

I was always good at putt-putt and this was a cheap form of entertainment for a young couple waiting on a baby to be born.  As we were playing, we noticed that the course was becoming unusually un-crowded.  The gold course was bare too.  The driving range was empty.  It was kind of like the Twilight Zone.  We finished up and instead of wondering what was causing the mass exodus from the course, we decided (since there was no wait) we would play again lol.  We paid and headed back out.  The man who checked us in and out was glued to his little TV inside his booth and he barely noticed us.

Kennedy Golf Course was now deserted.  It was almost eerie.  We played and then Mark was going to drop us off and head home.  I climbed the steep stairs to the apartment and I turned on the TV as I walked through the living room.  Red banners surrounded the TV screen in all directions. I knew something had happened. Mark and Brian were still talking in the parking lot.  I opened the door to the balcony and yelled for them to come upstairs.

Now, we knew why the putt-putt course was empty.  The entire nation was glued to their TVs watching the OJ chase.  lol.  We sat down and did the same.  I guess that was what the cashier was watching in his booth at the golf course.  We missed the largest news story in the nation and we were clueless.  Oh well.  I am glad we missed it.  We had a lot of fun playing putt-putt.  GN

2 thoughts on “The OJ Chase and Putt-Putt….(F)

Leave a comment